Austria

June of 2018 marked the 50th anniversary of the first contract to supply natural gas from Russia to Austria. The oil and gas group OMV was the first company in Western Europe that signed the long-term contract to purchase the ‘blue fuel’ from USSR. On 1 June1968, the contract was signed, and already on 10 September, 1968, first gas started to flow to Austria.

The Republic of Austria became the first country in Western Europe to sign a long-term gas supply contract with the USSR in 1968. Over the past years, the volume of gas exports from Russia to Austria has grown more than tenfold, reaching a record value of 16.28 bcm in 2019. As of January 1, 2020, Austria has received around 239 bcm of Russian natural gas in total since the beginning of supplies.

For more than 50 years, Austria’s largest company, OMV AGOMV AG is the largest energy concern in Central Europe. Until 1994, the state owned 100% of the company’s shares. Its headquarters is located in Vienna. Today OMV’s shareholders are the Austrian government (via the Austrian Industrial Holding) with 31.5% stake, Mubadala Investment Company with 24.9%, shareholding programs with 0.4%, OMV itself with 0.1%, and 43% shares are in free float. By the end of 2019, the volume of sales of OMV amounted to 23 billion euros, the number of employees reached 20 thousand. The company conducts business in Central and Eastern Europe, the Middle East and Africa, the North Sea, Russia, and the Asia-Pacific Region. OMV is engaged in the production of hydrocarbons, as well as the development of low-carbon energy solutions. Gazprom Group cooperates with OMV in the field of gas production, transportation and supply., has been Gazprom Export’s main business partner in the national market. Currently the purchaser of Russian gas is OMV Gas Marketing and Trading GmbH, a 100% subsidiary of OMV AG. 

In June 2018, during the celebration of 50 years anniversary of Russian gas supplies to Austria, Gazprom and OMV Gas Marketing & Trading GmbH extended the long-term contract for gas supplies to Austria through December 31, 2040. Later that year, the parties signed a supplement to this contract increasing the supply volume to Austria by 1 bcm per year for the entire contract term.


Austria plays an important role in natural gas transportation, providing transit for around 30 bcm of Gazprom Group’s gas each year to Italy, France, Germany, Hungary, Slovenia and Croatia. Austrian underground storage facility Haidach also plays an important role to ensure reliable gas supplies in the region. Gazprom Export, the German WINGAS and the Austrian RAG jointly operate this facility. 

In June 2017, Gazprom and OMV AG signed a Memorandum of understanding on coordinating activities in order to develop gas transportation infrastructure for natural gas supplies to Central and South-Eastern Europe, as well as the Framework agreement on cooperation in the sphere of small-scale LNG.

Австрия

В июне 2018 года исполнилось 50 лет с даты подписания первого контракта на поставку природного газа из России в Австрию. Нефтегазовая группа ОМВ была первой компанией Западной Европы, заключившей долгосрочный контракт на закупку «голубого топлива» из СССР. Подписание состоялось 1 июня, а первый газ в Австрию пошел уже 10 сентября 1968 г.

Австрийская Республика стала первой страной в Западной Европе, заключившей с СССР контракт на поставки газа. Это произошло в 1968 г. За минувшие годы объем экспорта газа из России в Австрию вырос более чем в 10 раз, достигнув в 2019 г. рекордного значения — 16,28 млрд куб. м. Всего с начала поставок на 1 января 2020 г. в Австрию было поставлено порядка 239 млрд куб. м российского природного газа.

На протяжении более полувека основным деловым партнером ООО «Газпром экспорт» в Австрии является одно из крупнейших предприятий страны — «ОМВ АГ«ОМВ АГ» – крупнейший в Центральной Европе энергетический концерн. Штаб‐квартира располагается в Вене. До 1994 г. 100% акций компании принадлежали государству. В настоящее время акционерами компании являются государство (в лице «Австрийского промышленного холдинга») – 31,5% акций, инвестиционный холдинг Мубадала – 24,9%, программы владения акциями – 0,4%, в собственности компании – 0,1%, в свободном обращении – 43,0%. По итогам 2019 г. объем продаж ОМВ составил 23 млрд евро, численность персонала достигла 20 тыс. человек. Компания ведет бизнес в Центральной и Восточной Европе, на Ближнем Востоке и Африке, в Северном море, в России, а также в Азиатско‐Тихоокеанском регионе. ОМВ занимается добычей углеводородов, а также развитием низкоуглеродных энергетических решений. Группа Газпром сотрудничает с ОМВ в сфере добычи, транспортировки и поставок газа.». Непосредственным покупателем российского газа в настоящее время является 100%‐я дочерняя компания «ОМВ АГ» — «ОМВ Газ Маркетинг энд Трейдинг ГмбХ».

В ходе мероприятий по случаю 50‐летнего юбилея поставок российского газа в Австрию в июне 2018 г. с компанией «ОМВ Газ Маркетинг энд Трейдинг ГмбХ» было подписано соглашение о продлении действующих до 2028 г. долгосрочных контрактов на поставку газа в Австрию до 31 декабря 2040 г. Позднее в том же году стороны подписали дополнение к контракту об увеличении объемов поставок газа в Австрию на 1 млрд куб. м в год на весь срок действия контракта.


Австрия играет важную роль в транспортировке природного газа, ежегодно обеспечивая для Группы Газпром транзит в объеме около 30 млрд куб. м в Италию, Францию, Германию, Венгрию, Словению и Хорватию. Также большую роль для обеспечения надёжности газоснабжения региона играет австрийское подземное хранилище газа «Хайдах». «Газпром экспорт», германская ВИНГАЗ и австрийская РАГ совместно эксплуатируют это хранилище.

В июне 2017 г. Газпром и «ОМВ АГ» подписали Меморандум о взаимопонимании по координации действий в области развития газотранспортной инфраструктуры для обеспечения поставок природного газа в Центральную и Юго‐Восточную Европу, а также Рамочное соглашение по сотрудничеству в области малотоннажного СПГ.