Storage

To ensure an uninterrupted supply of gas to European consumers during the periods of higher demand, repair operations on gas transmission network as well as in order to supply additional volumes of gas, Gazprom Group has adopted a strategy of development of underground gas storage (UGS). Potential storage facilities should be located strategically, that is, near the pipelines that transports Russian gas. Construction of storage facilities is usually carried out jointly by our company and a local partner.

From 2006 to 2016, our available gas storage capacity in Europe has increased from 1.4 to 5.0 billion cubic meters of active gas and the total daily output grew from 18.2 to 84.7 million cubic meters.

Gazprom Group is involved in projects in the field of underground storage in countries through which the main volume of Russian exports pass:

  • In Germany, thanks to participation in WINGAS, our company operates the largest underground gas storage in Europe — Rehden with a volume of more than 4.7 billion cubic meters;
  • Gazprom Export, WINGAS and RAG company operate Haidach UGS in Austria. Gas volume in the storage facilities after the second phase start amounts 2.89 billion cubic meters. Haidach UGS provides secutity of Russian gas exports in the direction of Baumgarten, and supplies to consumers in Slovenia, Croatia, Hungary, Austria, Germany, Slovakia and Italy;
  • Together with the VNG company, we’re implementing a project for the construction of Katharina UGS (Germany). Designed capacity of the storage amounts to 26 million cubic meters per day. At present, the facility’s active storage capacity amounts to 314.7 million cubic meters, and after twelve planned caverns are constructed, the working gas volume of the facility will amount to more than 650 million cubic meters. The UGS ensures the reliability of supplies to Western Europe at the transfer points Mallnow, Waidhaus, Gaspool, NCG, as well as along the Nord Stream pipeline;
  • In Serbia, our company has implemented the Banatsky Dvor UGS project, with an active volume of 450 million cubic meters of gas. Gazprom Group’s share in this project equals 51%. This UGS ensures the reliability of export supplies of natural gas to Hungary, Serbia, Bosnia and Herzegovina;
  • In the Netherlands, in 2014 the Bergermeer UGS came on stream, which might become the largest UGS in Western Europe. Bergermeer has a strategic location, as well as significant reserves of active gas, 1.9 billion cubic meters of which Gazprom has received in storage volume of storage capacity of 4.5 billion cubic meters available. UGS Bergermeer will be able to ensure the safe operation of the Nord Stream and support security of gas supplies.
  • Gazprom and MND Group finished the construction of a new gas storage facility in Damborice, Czech Republic. The underground facility, commissioned in 2016, currently has an active storage capacity of 117.0 million cubic meters, and a maximum designed active volume of 456 million cubic meters. This facility will secure the reliability of Russian natural gas supplies via OPAL and Nord Stream.
  • Gazprom Group together with BP and DONG Energy is setting up and operating a cavern storage facility in Etzel (Germany), in proximity to major natural gas import pipelines and connection to both the German and the Dutch natural gas network. The Etzel UGS facility can store natural gas in currently 7, and from winter 2017 in 9 salt caverns up to a working gas volume of about 1 billion cubic meters.
  • Gazprom Group also owns one of Germany’s largest cavern storage facilities in Jemgum. It was put into operation in 2013, and is scheduled for completion in 2019/2020, reaching a total working gas volume of 900 to 950 million cubic metres of natural gas. The Jemgum UGS is a high-performance storage facility that can inject or withdraw its entire gas volume in short spaces of time. Approximately a million cubic meters of natural gas can be withdrawn within an hour, while the entire storage volume can be provided within about 40 days. That means short-term intermediate storage to compensate for supply bottlenecks is possible as well as spontaneously taking advantage of market opportunities.

In addition, Gazprom Group is conducting a feasibility assessment of the possibility of participation in projects in the area of UGS facilities in Austria, Slovakia, China and other countries.

 

Underground Gas Storage Projects in Europe
- Brochure Memo

 
 

Related news:

Haidach UGS celebrates 10 years of successful work – 07.06.2017

Gazprom Export and Srbijagas sign Memorandum to expand UGS capacity in Serbia – 03.06.2017

Gazprom provided reliable gas deliveries to consumers throughout winter season of 2016-2017 – 25.05.2017

The Katharina underground gas storage has been put into operation – 23.05.2017

Documents signed to advance Russian-Chinese cooperation in underground gas storage – 15.05.2017

Gazprom Group and CNPC signed the Agreement to conduct geotechnical surveys for the creation of UGS facilities in China  – 15.02.2017

UGS development in Europe bolstering reliability of gas supplies to consumers in winter  – 13.12.2016

Dambořice Underground Gas Storage is put into operation  – 01.07.2016

UGS Bergermeer put into full commercial operation in the Netherlands  – 02.04.2015

Gazprom Export volumes of active gas in European UGSs exceed 5 bcm  – 17.11.2014

Хранение

Для обеспечения бесперебойных поставок «голубого топлива» зарубежным потребителям в периоды повышенного спроса и проведения ремонтных работ на газотранспортных системах, а также для реализации дополнительных продаж газа Группа Газпром реализует стратегию развития системы подземных хранилищ газа (ПХГ). Потенциальные хранилища должны находиться вблизи газопроводов, по которым транспортируется природный газ. Строительство ПХГ, как правило, осуществляется совместно с местным партнером.

С 2006 по 2016 гг. мощности «Газпром экспорта» по хранению газа в Европе возросли с 1,4 до 5,0 млрд куб. м, а суточная производительность — с 18,2 до 84,7 млн куб. м.

Группа Газпром участвует в проектах в сфере подземного хранения газа в странах, через территорию которых проходят основные объёмы российских поставок:

  • ООО «Газпром экспорт» совместно с ВИНГАЗ эксплуатирует в Германии крупнейшее хранилище Европы — «Реден» объемом 4,7 млрд куб. м.
  • ООО «Газпром экспорт», ВИНГАЗ и компания РАГ эксплуатируют ПХГ «Хайдах» в Австрии. Объем активного газа после введения в эксплуатацию второй очереди составил 2,89 млрд куб. м. ПХГ «Хайдах» обеспечивает надежность экспортных поставок природного газа в направлении пункта Баумгартен, а также потребителей Словении, Хорватии, Венгрии, Австрии, Германии, Словакии и Италии.
  • Совместно с компанией ФНГ мы реализуем проект строительства ПХГ «Катарина» в Германии. Проектная производительность ПХГ составляет 26 млн куб. м в сутки. В настоящее время активная емкость газохранилища составляет 314,7 млн куб. м., и должна достигнуть 650 млн куб. м после сооружения запланированных 12-ти каверн. Это ПХГ обеспечивает надежность поставок в Западную Европу в пунктах Мальнов, Вайдхаус, Газпул и ЭнСиДжи, а также по газопроводу «Северный поток».
  • В Сербии нашей компанией реализован проект ПХГ «Банатский двор» с активным объемом в 450 млн куб. м газа. В этом проекте доля Группы Газпром составляет 51%. ПХГ обеспечивает надежность экспортных поставок природного газа в Венгрию, Сербию, Боснию и Герцеговину.
  • В Нидерландах в 2014 г. введено в эксплуатацию ПХГ «Бергермеер», в объёме которого Газпром получил 1,9 млрд куб. м. ПХГ «Бергермеер», имеющее стратегически важное расположение, призвано обеспечивать стабильный режим работы газопровода «Северный поток» и надежность поставок газа.
  • Совместно с компанией «Моравске нафтове долы» (МНД) в Чехии завершено строительство ПХГ «Дамборжице», которое было введено в эксплуатацию летом 2016 г. В настоящее время активная емкость ПХГ составляет 117,0 млн куб. м, а максимальный проектный активный объем хранения — 456 млн куб. м. Проект призван обеспечивать надежность поставок российского газа по газопроводам ОПАЛ и «Северный поток».
  • Группа Газпром совместно с компаниями «Би-Пи» и «ДОНГ Энерджи» с 2007 г. реализует проект ПХГ в германском Этцеле, в непосредственной близости к магистральным газопроводам и газотранспортным сетям Германии и Нидерландов. В настоящий момент хранилище «Этцель» включает семь соляных каверн. В 2017 г. их количество будет доведено до 9, а активный объём газа достигнет порядка 1 млрд куб. м.
  • Группе Газпром также принадлежит одно из крупнейших ПХГ Германии, расположенное в муниципальном образовании Йемгум. Данное хранилище введено в эксплуатацию в 2013 г., по окончании сооружения в 2019-2020 гг. его активный объем составит 900-950 млн куб. м газа. «Йемгум» является высокоэффективным хранилищем, способным закачивать и извлекать весь доступный объём газа за короткие периоды времени. Так, один миллион кубометров природного газа может быть отобран в течение часа, а весь объём хранилища — в течение около 40 дней, что позволяет пользоваться хранилищем на краткосрочной основе для обеспечения стабильного газоснабжения и использования возможностей спотовой торговли.

Кроме того, Группа Газпром проводит технико-экономическую оценку возможности участия в проектах в сфере ПХГ на территории Австрии, Словакии, Китая и ряда других стран.

 

Брошюра "Подземное хранение газа в Европе"